Blog update

My blog has been quite silent for a long time now but despite that there won’t be any “I’m sorry, I’ve been really busy” -talk now. I’m working on a bit bigger article where you’ll get a fair amount of that piffle. I’ve got more important things to talk about right now.

First of all, I’ve pretty much finished my high school studies by now. We’ll have our graduation party on the 1st of June and we’ll get the results of our finals in May. Until that I don’t have to even think about school. I’ve done my work, I’ve got enough courses and I know I clearly passed my finals ( = matriculation exams). We got the estimated marks a week after the matriculation exams.

Unfortunately high school being finished doesn’t mean lazy days for me. I’m currently both working in a nearby gas station and studying for entrance exams. I’ve applied to universities hoping to become either a special education or primary school teacher. It feels kind of weird as just a few months ago I was still saying that I’ll never be a teacher, I can’t do it, I can’t teach. It seems that I’ve changed my mind. My plan B is to study computer science. Hopefully I’ll get in somewhere. A lot depends on the entrance exams as many universities don’t care that very much about my marks which is a pity.

After the entrance exams are over in May I’m hoping to write a lot. There will be many things to do though as my family is moving to Turku, a city on the southwest coast of Finland. I’ll be packing things, organizing my graduation party and selling things we don’t need anymore or my family won’t have room for. Despite having my hands full of work I’ll surely be updating my blog too. As I mentioned earlier, I’m working on quite a big post which won’t be about ICT but studying and things related to that instead. I’m also planning to write an article or two about my high school experiences and give some advice to future high school students. These three years have taught me a lot and in my opinion that knowledge should be shared. If you have anything you would like to ask or read and article about just send me a message, throw a comment, tweet me… You know what to do. There’s also a box for questions in my blog on “Anything to ask?” -page if you’ll rather use that.

By the way, I’ve been editing the appearance of my blog and there might be more changes in future. Quite a while ago I read Leo Babauta’s post “Minimal Web” and it inspired me a lot. According to Babauta there should be nothing else but the essential things in one’s blog. I don’t agree with him about everything and will take only a part of his advice. I won’t for example get rid of comments. However, I’m trying to make my blog a bit more minimalistic than it’s by now as I really like a simple layout. I’ve for instance deleted sharing buttons. People don’t need a Facebook or Twitter button for sharing. I know you know how to do it “manually”.

Anyway, I think that was all about this update. Even though my high school days have came to end, it doesn’t mean end for this blog. I’ll keep using a laptop and tablet in my studies and hopefully I’ll someday be a teacher and use ICT with my students. We’ll see.

Have a wonderful spring people!

– Pilvi

2 thoughts on “Blog update

Leave a Reply

